top of page

You Taught Me.

You taught me that the most important part of me is my sexuality. That I should be eager to please and easily pleasured and that's how to earn affection and attention. You taught me that there's something wrong with me if I'm not pleasured by what you do and how you do it. You pushed me to do certain things enough times that I said yes, because I thought I was supposed to. You shaped, molded, and manipulated me until I learned how to fake intimacy and give everything to be the girl you dreamed of.

My thoughts warped to the point that man after man has treated me this way and I didn't even bat an eye. I swore up and down I'd never let anyone hurt me the way you did. I put my heart in chains and locks, but I somehow forgot to protect my body. I just let it be the object that you taught me it should be. I've been sexualized and made to feel like an object by you, by your best friend after you, by ones I thought were my friends, by strangers, by men twice my age, by younger boys who thought they had that right too. I let them objectify me because you taught me to see myself that way too.

Now I'm left with the tragedy of what I've allowed, but you've lived on seamlessly because that's how it works. That's how being a girl in this sex-hungry entitled-man's world is. You should have known better. But the truth is, you get to walk away, somehow, without even being aware of what you've done.


Archive
bottom of page